View Map
Winter Video

European Capital of Culture

Valletta was unanimously named European Capital of Culture (ECoC) for 2018, by a jury of experts, following a presentation by the Valletta 2018 Foundation on Friday 12th October 2012. Next, Valletta will be officially declared title holder by the Council of Ministers in May 2013.

The news was announced by the ECoC jury chairman Manfred Gaulhofer, during a live-broadcast press conference in St John's Co-Cathedral's oratory, housing Caravaggio's St Jerome, and St John the Baptist's Beheading. He was flanked by the European Commission representative Ann Branch, as Minister for Culture Mario de Marco presided the Press Conference. Gaulhofer said that the jury was convinced that Valletta had the will, motivation and the required ambition to receive the title.

Minister de Marco said that this is very positive news for the cultural and artistic sectors in Malta. He noted that this confirms the Government's policy in the cultural and creative sector, which is being recognised on a European level.

European Commission representative Ann Branch underlined the prestige of the title of ECoC, which is given to cities which are rich in heritage, but would also have a great potential of cultural and socio-economic regeneration.

For more information visit:  


Malta Tourism Authority