Skip to main content


マルタで騎士団の遺産を見逃すのは難しいでしょう。彼らは島に、世界に最も有名な島の顔 「八つのポイントの十字架」 を与えました。







The Maltese Cross


The Maltese Cross was officially adopted by the Order of the Knights Hospitallers of St. John in 1126. Its eight points denote the eight obligations of the knights, namely "to live in truth, have faith, repent one's sins, give proof of humility, love justice, be merciful, be sincere and whole-hearted, and to endure persecution". With time, the eight points also came to represent the eight "langues" (national groupings) of the noblemen who were admitted into the brotherhood, namely those of Auvergne, Provence, France, Aragon, Castille and Portugal, Italy, Baviere (Germany), and England (with Scotland and Ireland).

To this very day, the Maltese Cross remains the symbol of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta.