Churches & Religious Sites


Triq il-Knisja, Żebbuġ, Gozo

St. Mary Church

The church of St. Mary in Żebbuġ is spectacular for its onyx (Gozo alabaster) interior - a recent addition to a much older church.

There is believed to have been a church on the hill of iż-Żebbuġ since time immemorial. A chapel dedicated to the Assumption of Our Lady is first recorded in 1615 - and noted by the Bishop of the time, paying a pastoral visit, to be one of the best kept chapels on the island.

Around 1640, the community in iż-Żebbuġ felt the need to build a new larger chapel, which was finished by 1644 and the village gained parish status in 1688. The chapel once again proved too small, and the people began to build another much larger church on the site in 1690 which was consecrated in 1726. This was the first church after Gozo Cathedral to be built with aisles.

Today the church is richly embellished with Gozo onyx. This onyx, sometimes referred to as Gozo alabaster, was unearthed in a field in the vicinity of the church, and is the village's pride and joy. The church's altar, pulpit, font, chandeliers, and confessionals are all now of carved onyx, transforming the parish church into an extravagant and unique attraction.


Informações de contacto

  • Contacto: Gozo Diocese
  • Telefone: +356 21551211

Informações gerais

  • Dias de abertura:
    • segunda-feira
    • terça-feira
    • quarta-feira
    • quinta-feira
    • sexta-feira
    • sábado
    • domingo
Ver no mapa