European Capital of Culture

Valletta was declared European Capital of Culture (ECoC) on the 12th October 2012. The Valletta 2018 Foundation was responsible for compiling the bid for Valletta as an ECoC and is in charge of implementing the project.

Valletta hosted the title of European Capital of Culture in 2018 with a partner Dutch city, Leeuwarden. The ECoC included all the Maltese Islands, with an aim to spread its impact throughout the whole Maltese territory.

The video below shows an overview of the main events held in 2018.

For more information visit the Valletta 2018 website.



Valletta 2018