CHURCH OF ST. LAWRENCE
Xatt ir-Risq, Vittoriosa, Malta
Vittoriosa, known as Birgu before the Great Siege of 1565, is one of the oldest parishes in Malta. St. Lawrence originally served as the conventual church of the Order of St. John before the building of Valletta and St John’s Cathedral.
The present church was built between 1681 and 1697 and designed by Malta’s most prominent baroque architect, Lorenzo Gafa. It is a fine example of Roman baroque. The area in front of the church was used as a graveyard during the Great Siege. Later St. Joseph’s Chapel and the Crucifix Chapel were built on the site. Showcased in St. Joseph’s Chapel are the hat and sword of Grand Master Jean de la Valette, the founder of Valletta.
A small museum, entrance through St. Lorenzo Street, is located next to the parish church.
Facilities & Services
- Children Welcome
- Seaside Location
- Town/City Location
- Opening Days: