Valletta Commonwealth Walkway

Commonwealth Walkway

The Valletta Commonwealth Walkway was inaugurated by HM Queen Elizabeth II and Minister for Tourism Edward Zammit Lewis on the 28th November to mark the beginning of a walk linking significant sites of heritage and culture in the city. It was launched during the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting held in Malta in 2015.

The route is marked with 20 bronze markers bearing The Queen’s cypher – EIIR – and interpreted on a free App to guide walkers along the route and to highlight points of interest, which include the following locations:

01 City Gate (formerly known as Kings Gate)
02 Malta Parliament
03 Hastings Gardens
04 Fortress Museum (Fortifications Interpretation Centre) 
05 St Paul’s Pro Cathedral
06 Manoel Theatre
07 St John’s Ambulance HQ
08 Fort St Elmo
09 Siege Bell Memorial
10 Lower Barrakka Gardens
11 Victoria Gate
12 Upper Barrakka Gardens
13 Auberge de Castille
14 Statue of Jean de Vallette
15 National Archeological Museum
16 St John’s Co-Cathedral
17 Republic Square
18 Grandmasters Palace and Armoury
19 Casa Rocca Piccola
20 The Church of St Paul’s Shipwreck

The Valletta Commonwealth Walkway will be part of a network of walkways in 100 cities across all 71 Commonwealth nations and territories. The objective is to connect people, improve health, celebrate the richness and diversity of the Commonwealth, and to commemorate the Queen as Head of the Commonwealth.

For more information visit this Website.

Download concise Leaflet with directions or full Brochure with more detailed information.

The Commonwealth Walkways mobile app can be downloaded from the App Store.