Overlooking the Grand Harbour on Valletta’s magnificent waterfront, Lady of Our Liesse has a history spanning over 250 years. Standing on the site of a 16th-Century church with the same name, it was built by the Langue of France in 1740 and consecrated in 1806.
More coming soon!
A paragon of Baroque splendour, the church has three altars with a dome and belfry designed by Maltese architect Francesco Żammit. Home to a wealth of artistic treasures, it contains a titular painting depicting the legend of the Our Lady and Liesse, the relics of the martyr St Generoso, and a statue of the Virgin Mary taken from Fort St Elmo.
The building was badly damaged by aerial bombardment during World War ll but was repaired in 1951. Ten years later, it was given to the Apostleship of the Sea. A must for any visitor to the Valletta Waterfront!
St Paul's Anglican Pro-Cathedral
A reminder of the first Christian missionary in Malta
Collegiate Parish Church of St Paul's Shipwreck
Enter one of Valletta's oldest churches
Church of Our Lady of Liesse
A historical reminder of the Armenians' time in Malta
Church of Our Lady of Victories
The first church (and building) completed in Valletta
Mdina Cathedral Museum
Housed within a magnificent Baroque structure
A chapel, a sinkhole, and a fascinating legend.