Skip to main content

3de partij organisatie informatie

Towns & Villages


28, Triq Sant’Anġlu, Żejtun, ŻTN 1369, Malta


Zejtun's origins lie in antiquity judging by discoveries in the area of Punic tombs and the remains of a large Roman villa complete with cisterns and olive press.

Olive oil production here probably continued into Arabic times: the village derives its name from the semitic word `zejt' meaning olive. The nearby prehistoric site of Ta' Silg suggests the area was inhabited even earlier. Zejtun was elevated to town status by the last Grand Master in Malta, Ferdinand de Hompesch, who named it `Citta' Beland' after his mother's lineage. Zejtun, lying near to Marsaxlokk and Marsaskala Bays, was easily open to attack from Barbary Corsairs and the Ottoman Turks. You can still see some fortified houses in the village core.

Zejtun today retains much of historical interest. The Parish Church of St. Catherine (1692), described as `the cathedral of the South', is perhaps the finest work of Maltese architect Lorenzo Gafa'. The Old Parish Church of St. Gregory, dating back to 1592, is a fascinating church. In 1969, a secret passage was discovered in the church walls. Intended perhaps as a safe place for villagers when Zejtun was under attack, these passages revealed the skeletal remains of some 80 or people.

Contact informatie

  • Contact: Żejtun Local Council
  • Telefoon: +356 21663866
  • Telefoon: +356 21663939
  • Fax: +356 21800073

Faciliteiten en diensten

  • Faciliteiten Voor Minder ValidenFaciliteiten Voor Minder Validen
  • Openbare TelefoonOpenbare Telefoon
  • Openbare ToilettenOpenbare Toiletten
  • Parkeergelegenheid Voor Minder ValidenParkeergelegenheid Voor Minder Validen
  • ParkerenParkeren
  • RestaurantRestaurant
  • StadslocatieStadslocatie
  • TuinTuin
  • Winkels Binnen 1 kmWinkels Binnen 1 km
Bekijk op de kaart