Event Details


19/05/2018 20:00 - 22:00

Tchaikovsky was particularly enthusiastic about his Fifth Symphony – which was actually his sixth, including the unnumbered Manfred Symphony – only to end up deeply dejected by a muted public reaction to the work. However, the symphony, a four-movement cyclical piece with a recurring main theme evoking the idea of fate, has grown immeasurably in stature since.

Under the direction of conductor Sergey Smbatyan, the MPO will also be joined by another Armenian musician – pianist Nareh Arghamanyan – for a performance of a Alexey Shor’s Travel Notebook, a suite for piano and orchestra inspired by the composer’s travels. The concert opens with a newly-commissioned work for orchestra and solo viola by Maltese composer Albert Garzia, bearing the name Kewn (existence).

PRICE: €10 - €30

For more information visit this website. 


Mediterranean Conference Centre

View On Map More Info »


Malta Philharmonic Orchestra