Event Details


11/07/2018 18:00

'Piano & Viola Concert by Slavka Vernerova and Petr Verner' will be organized on the 11th July 2018 at the Casino Maltese in Valletta, with the concert starting at 18.00hrs.



  • Petr Verner - viola
  • Slávka Vernerová – piano


Johannes Brahms - Sonata for Viola and Piano op.120 no.2 in E flat major (1833 – 1897)

  • I.   Allegro amabile                                                                       
  • II.  Allegro appassionato                                                   
  • III. Andante con moto - allegro

Chopin: Nocturno c minor op 48 no 1

Rebecca Clarke - Sonata for Viola and Piano (1886-1979)

  • I.    Impetuoso- Poco agitato                                           
  • II.   Vivace
  • III.  Adagio - Agitato - Comodo:quasi pastorale - Quasi fantasia – Agitato

Entrance to this event will be free of charge with a suggested donation of €20.

About Petre Verner

Petr Verner (*1963), son of Pavel Verner, began his viola studies with outstanding Czech viola soloist Jan Pěruška. He was then a pupil of Jiří Zika at the Prague Conservatory, graduating from that school in 1986 to continue his studies with Milan Škampa, Lubomír Malý and Jan Pěruška at the same city's AcaQuartet demy of Music (1986-1991). From here it was primarily the celebrated Czech violinist and conductor Josef Vlach who was to have a fundamental influence on his career. Petr Verner participated in international chamber music courses under the guidance of F. Beyer, C. Poppen and E. Feltz in Germany, and with the Melos in Switzerland. In 1985 he became Principal Viola with the Czech Chamber Orchestra and a member of the Vlach Quartet of Prague, with whom he appeared until 2005. With the latter ensemble he gave concerts in the USA, Japan, New Zealand and most countries within Europe. He is currently a member of the Verner Collegium, the New Pražák Quartet and the Gabriela Demeterová Collegium, and principal conductor of the BKO. In 2006 he entered into a regular conducting partnership with the prestigious Roxy Ensemble chamber orchestra, whom he has directed in works by Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Haydn, Schönberg and Marko Ivanović to date. He has made solo appearances with a number of orchestras including the Prague Chamber Orchestra, the Jenaer Philharmonie, the Czech Chamber Orchestra, the South Bohemian Philharmonia and the Talich Chamber Orchestra. His discography comprises forty CD recordings covering a wide range of chamber and solo repertoire from all periods in music history.

About Slávka Vernerová - Pěchočová 

After her graduation from the conservatory in Pardubice under the guidance of  Prof. Martin Hršel, Slávka Vernerová Pěchočová studied piano at Prague’s Academy of Performing Arts with Ivan Moravec from 1998 to 2003. Afterwards, in 2007 she completed her doctoral studies; the topic of her dissertation was the complete works of Leoš Janáček. Pěchočová also participated in master courses given by Nelly Akopian and, in 2002, she completed the graduate programme at the Royal College of Music in London. That same year, Czech television broadcast a 40-minute documentary, directed by Jan Mudra, on her life.

She won the International Smetana’s piano competition in Hradec Králové in 1996 and is a laureate of several other domestic and foreign competitions: Wrocław 1995, Missouri 1998, and Wales 2001.She played repeatedly for the Youth Podium Festival in Carlsbad and in 2004 was invited as soloist for the matinee concert in Prague’s Spring Festival.  Vernerová - Pěchočová has played with various orchestras, both Czech (Czech Philharmonic, FOK et al.) and foreign (Gunma [Japan] Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Orchestra), conducted by Libor Pešek, Jiří Bělohlávek, Martin Turnovský, Jakub Hrůša, et al. In the summer of 2009 she was a guest soloist with the BBC’s  Symphony Orchestra at Royal Albert Hall in London during the Proms Festival. She also gives solo recitals in concert series (e.g. World Piano Music in Prague, Tonhalle in Zurich, Concert Series in Osaka, Music and Beyond in Ottawa  etc.).

The pianist also pursues chamber music: she plays in The Spring Duo and Dvořák Piano Quartet and she is a sought-after partner for collaboration among leading instrumentalists and ensembles in the Czech music scene. Between years 2008 - 2015 she was a member of Kinsky Trio Prague.

Vernerová- Pěchočová's 2010 recording of Janáček for PRAGA DIGITALS was enthusiastically received in the Czech Republic (TIP Harmonie) and abroad ('Choc' of France's Classica magazine).


Casino Maltese

View On Map More Info »