Event Details

MICAS ART TALKS

12/10/2019 11:30 - 14:00
MICAS ART TALKS

MICAS and the Serpentine Galleries are proud to present two sessions of talks inspired by the research and practice of artist Pierre Huyghe, on the occasion of the opening of his work Exomind (Deep Water) in Malta. Experts in philosophy, science, anthropology, technology, art and ecology have been invited to participate in discussions that take Huyghe’s work as a starting point, to ask: how can we respond to the climate crisis across disciplines? How can we rethink our position in the world? Where should we look for help? This international panel will be chaired by the Serpentine Galleries’ Artistic Director Hans Ulrich Obrist, and Rebecca Lewin, Curator of Exhibition and Design, who worked with Huyghe on his recent exhibition at the Serpentine Galleries, titled UUmwelt (2018).

SESSION 1: Bio-entanglement and dislocation

Speakers:
Manthia Diawara: https://micas.art/manthia-diawara/
Elizabeth A. Povinelli: https://micas.art/elizabeth-a-povinelli/
Simone Borg: https://micas.art/simone-borg/

Chaired by:
Hans Ulrich Obrist: https://micas.art/hans-ulrich-obrist/
Rebecca Lewin: https://micas.art/rebecca-lewin/

SESSION 2: Systems as hyperobjects, hyperobjects as systems

Speakers:

Emanuele Coccia: https://micas.art/emanuele-coccia/
Flora Katz: https://micas.art/flora-katz/
Niki Young: https://micas.art/niki-young/
Nora N. Khan: https://micas.art/nora-h-khan/

Chaired by:
Hans Ulrich Obrist: https://micas.art/hans-ulrich-obrist/
Rebecca Lewin: https://micas.art/rebecca-lewin/

Date: 12.10.2019
Time: 11. 30 AM – 1.45 PM
Venue: MUŻA, Auberge d’Italie, Merchants Street, Valletta

You are cordially invited to register for free by sending an email to info@micas.art.

Registration is mandatory as spaces are limited. Registration deadline: 07.10.2019. Please include your name, surname and mobile number in the registration email. For any enquiries, please call on 21242183.

The MICAS Art Talks form part of the MICAS International Art Weekend and are organised with the kind support of Air Malta, Heritage Malta, Malta Tourism Authority, Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government, Restoration Directorate, and MUŻA.

Venue

Auberge d'Italie

View On Map More Info »

Organiser

MICAS